Protein Packed Cookie Dough Ice Cream

I love ice cream, but eating a mug full a few times per week is not conducive to losing the lower belly fat, and due to my inability to have small portions of Stewart’s Peanut butter Pandemonium, it was crucial that I go cold turkey. So, night after night, I grudgingly consumed a bowl of Greek yogurt and berry “dessert,” trying to accept a life without the happiness that ice cream had always given me.

Then, one day, by the grace of Google, I found a way to have my ice cream and eat it too. After lots of trial and error, I created the perfect formula. As a self-proclaimed ice cream connoisseur, I can honestly say that this recipe rivals the best store bought ice creams, without any of the post-pint guilt. Due to its high protein content, I prefer it either post work-out or, when I’m feeling especially bold, I’ll make it for breakfast.

What you’ll need:

1/2 (64 g) medium frozen banana (65 g)

2/3 cup (150 g) low-fat Cottage Cheese

¾ scoop (27 g) vanilla protein powder

½-whole Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Quest Bar cut into small chunks

Instructions:

Mix the banana, cottage cheese, protein powder and peanut butter in a blender or food processor until smooth. Place it into your bowl and mix in the Quest bar chunks! Tip: Microwave the bar for 10 seconds beforehand.

Makes 1 serving; Nutrition: 360 cals/ 22.5 g carbs/ 52.5 g protein/ 7 g fat.

Article by Jackie Dugas

Leave a Reply

