A Book Campaigning for a Cause

This past weekend was the state Kiwanis Convention in Albany, New York. I was lucky enough to be invited and given a table to display my book, Signing Together, advocate for CdLS and raffle off a prize basket at the incredibly beautiful Desmond Hotel! If that’s not exciting enough, I was also invited to the Long Island Writers’ House the week before. To say the least, it’s been a very busy but extraordinary week in the life of Katie Brush.

 

It was a pleasure to become involved with Kiwanis back in December. Kiwanis and I both share a huge passion for seeing children receive the education they deserve.

My picture book, which teaches American Sign Language and donates to a foundation named the CdLS Foundation, was published 11 months ago and has opened so many doors and eyes of which I am extremely grateful and proud to be a part of.

 

On August 9, I was invited to teach a seminar at the Long Island Writers’ House. I taught some sign language, spoke about my book and history, as well as informed individuals of the foundation.

CdLS is a syndrome that effects 1 in 10,000 live births. It’s very rare and often sounds like a foreign language to families prior to diagnosis. There is no way of preventing the syndrome and it is not usually hereditary.

My 10-year old cousin was born with this and is effected mentally, medically and physically. Although the impact that sign language will make on her life is unclear, research shows that many children whether they be hearing, deaf, or cognitively disabled, may experience a positive influence from the language.

Thank you to everyone who joined me throughout this journey. I have to say, my favorite part of this experience has been hearing stories about the impact my book has made in the lives of others. I will share stories that readers’ have told me recently about their experiences with Signing Together that truly warmed my heart. Keep an eye out for it!

Leave a Reply

