“A bigger house, a happier wife”

It was weird this morning, getting out for a run that my body really needed after a long absence. A new neighbor is building his home on Saratoga lake and he’s facetiously singing, “We’ll drink lots of beer and build a bench over here, what a great life, a bigger house and a happier wife.”

How can you not laugh at that? We all want bigger and better. We want what’s new and improved in the belief it will improve us by association.

I’ve been living in a Harry Potter closet for over a year. It’s a make-shift room that everyone walks through to get to the washing machine. My bed is the laundry table and there’s a food cabinet in my bedroom that once was our house’s storage room. I can’t even close my door all the way because it’s broken and I get locked in. When my dogs come in and lay on the floor, I literally can’t leave until they do.

Honestly, I secretly love to hate it and hate to love it. I remind myself how blessed I am to have a home, but, naturally, I sometimes find myself thinking, “If I had my own place, my own room, my own office, I would write, practice, dance, cook, do everything more.”

Would I though? Would my situation change my habits? Not at all.

We should all revel in our lives’ bits of chaos. Go a little crazy. Learn to love more of life with less. We should always remind ourselves that don’t need lots of money or space or new things. We need self-efface and sufficiency because one day it can all be taken away and to be honest, one day it will.

Make a home in your happiness.
xo

Leave a Reply

